Uncle Cliff


My theme for the next couple of days is The Great War also known as World War 1. Since 2003 when I learned my Great-Uncle Clifford Dye was killed fighting, I’ve been learning more and more about this war. Today, I’ll talk a bit about Uncle Cliff, or at least what I know.

There he is!! Click on the pic for a larger view.

He was killed at Chateau Thierry, France on July 19, 1918 during the 2nd Battle of the Marne. He served under General John Pershing. Somewhere I have what company he was in, but I don’t know where that is right now. I’m still trying to find out more information on him.

I do know the American Legion in Center Point, Iowa, where he was from, is named after him.

I’ll update more when I can.

Leave a Reply

