Regrets


I don’t have many regrets in my life. There are things I would do differently but I don’t know if it would change the outcome of my life. There are three things in my life that really bother me. I really lament the fact that if I had done it differently it could’ve  been something special. So here they are in no certain order.

I wish I had been a better husband than I was to my ex-wife. I wasn’t a bad husband, I just wish I would have been more attentive to her than I was. Then again, I wish she had communicated with me better. We both agreed we were both at fault.

There was a girl named Lisa Breer that I liked and apparently liked me…. a lot. We once went to her mom’s property that had a that had a trailer and she said she was going to her room. I didn’t catch on at the time at what she was getting at. Boy was I stupid. I was hung up on another girl that I would never have at the time. I haven’t seen Lisa Breer since 1996. I always wondered what became of her.

Then there was Tammy and back in 7th grade I had the opportunity to date her and I didn’t go for it. I was shy and I didn’t really know what to around girls. I was a geek, nerd, or whatever else it was called back then. But she saw through that because of the one thing I have always been throughout my life, I was nice. I just couldn’t see beyond my own stupidity to realize it back then. I tried to rectify it in 9th grade but she was already dating someone. She felt bad about it and told me so. Soon we went the way most friends in school do, we drifted apart.

But I never forgot about her.

Apparently, she didn’t forget either.

We’ve been friends on facebook for a few months and we’ve talked a couple of times, but not a lot. Then out of the blue she replied to the message I originally sent her. Seven months after the fact.

She said, “Yeah, I remember you . We went to a dance together in junior high school.”

To put it into the proper context, we’re talking about the year of 1984, twenty-seven and a half years ago. Who remembers an obscure dance from that long ago? Not many people will. And for the life of me I can’t remember too many other dances or who I went with but I do remember that one and who I went with.

In all likelihood this means nothing. Her talking to me means “Hey I remember you.” But that’s all. At least for now.

The irony of it all

I married a woman a woman named Tammy (her name) and she married a man named Tommy. (my name)

HA!!

Leave a Reply

