1980-2013 Houston Astros All-Time Team

Line Up

1B Jeff Bagwell                                       2000

2B Craig Biggio                                       1998

SS Miguel Tejada                                   2009

3B Jeff Kent                                             2004

LF Lance Berkman                                2001

CF Richard Hildalgo                             2000

RF Moises Alou                                       1998

C   Alan Ashby                                         1987


C   Ivan Rodriguez                                 2009

IF Dickie Thon                                        1983

IF Morgan Ensberg                               2005

IF Carlos Lee                                           2007

OF Jose Cruz                                           1980

OF Derek bell                                          1998

Pitching Staff

SP Mike Scott                                           1986

SP Mike Hampton                                   1999

SP Roy Oswalt                                          2005

SP Darryl Kile                                          1997

SP Jose Lima                                             1999

RP Shane Reynolds                                 1998

RP Doug Jones                                          1992

RP Jose Valverde                                     2008

RP Dave Smith                                          1986

RP Brad Lidge                                            2005

RP Billy Wagner                                        2003

MGR Phil Garner                                      2005

Notes: Phil Garner is the only manager to take the Astros to the World Series. The Astros, who are now in the AL, didn’t use a DH during those years, so I made them  out like a NL team. I ended up leaving Joe Niekro off even though he won 20 games in 1980. Mike Scot was so much more dominant in 86 and I couldn’t leave that year off. (Cy Young awards trump 20 win seasons sometimes) Very few 80’s players on team. Honorable Mention: Steve Finley (1992), Glenn Davis (1989), Bill Doran (1987), Carl Everett (1999), Joe Niekro (1980), Mark Portugal (1993), and Frank DiPino (1983). Next team up is the Minnesota Twins.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s